UM Tagum, PNP bag beach volleyball crowns | SunStar

UM Tagum, PNP bag beach volleyball crowns

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

UM Tagum, PNP bag beach volleyball crowns

Sunday, May 21, 2017

DAVAO. Women's beach volleyball champion Philippine National Police (PNP) Lady Patrollers received their prizes from Visit Davao Fun Sale (VDFS) coordinator Rayanne Arao and Maty City Sports Office office-in-charge Jojo Rabat. (Contributed Photo)

MATI CITY, Davao Oriental -- The University of Mindanao (UM) Tagum and the Philippine National Police (PNP) Lady Patrollers crowned themselves champions at the close of the Visit Davao Fun Sale (VDFS) National Beach Volleyball Tournament at the Menzi Beach Park and Camp Site here on Sunday, May 21.

Johnrel Amora scored 15 points including three service aces while teammate Hachaliah Gilbuena unloaded 13 markers and two big blocks to lift UM Tagum's win over the Edmar Flores and Kim Lapiz-bannered Davao Optima, 21-13, 21-17, in their men’s division titular showdown of the tournament sponsored by the Department of Tourism (DOT) in Davao Region and backed by Bonamine-Tempra, Cebu Pacific, BPI Cards, Air Asia and Tanduay.

Flores struggled with nine points even as teammate Lapiz was limited to four points and settled for a silver finish.

Gilbuena and Amora, in an interview with SunStar Davao, said they practiced for two weeks prior to the event, adding that they had been playing together since their UM Tagum college days.

“Three years na din kami magkasamang naglalaro,” Gilbuena said.

Amora, however, said they did not expect to win considering tough teams coming from the University Athletic Association of the Philippines including the National University Bulldogs and Far Eastern Philippines, thus, they are happy to pull it off.

The Bulldogs, meanwhile, salvaged the bronze after taming the Tamaraws, 21-18, 21-15.

Lourdelyn Catubag and Karen Kaye Quilario lifted PNP Lady Patrollers's triumph as they capitalized on their vast championship experience and chemistry to secure the women’s title over Ace Volleyball Club, 21-17, 23-21.

Catubag dropped 10 bombs while Quilario finished with 10 points including three service aces.

Ace Volleyball Club leaned on the services of Liezl Manatad and Christine Simpson who combined with 18 points but they succumbed to crucial errors and lost momentum.

The UM Tagum, for its part, survived past Mati City, 21-17, 16-21, 21-15, to end up with the bronze.

Mapua Institute of Technology, Southwestern University, BIMP-Eaga and Cor Jesu College of Digos teams also competed in the event officiated by the Balibolista de Dabaw.

The champion teams took home P30,000 while the next three placers received P20,000, P15,000, and P10,000, respectively.

A consolation prize of P4,000 was also given to non-winning entries courtesy of VDFS.

The VDFS coordinator Rayanne Arao, during the closing program, thanked partners DOT-Davao and the City of Mati.

City Sports Office office-in-charge Jojo Rabat, in his message to the participants, urged everyone to come back next year for a bigger event.

Published in the SunStar Davao newspaper on May 22, 2017.

Latest issues of SunStar Davao also available on your mobile phones, laptops, and tablets. Subscribe to our digital editions at and get a free seven-day trial.

View Comments