Sana-oy, Liao win Tawid Mountain Marathon | SunStar

Sana-oy, Liao win Tawid Mountain Marathon

Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Sana-oy, Liao win Tawid Mountain Marathon

Thursday, May 04, 2017

A DETERMINED Marcelo Sana-oy and Maria Josephine Liao bested other seasoned runners to top their respective categories in Tawid Mountain Marathon 2017 on April 30.

Sana-oy, the Nueva Vizcaya pride, finished the men’s 42km race with a time of 5:39:40 while Liao, who topped the distaff side, finished with a time of 7:41:24.

Jeffrey Aliga clocked 5:50:14 to finish second while Jason Kevin Lipa completed the top three with a time of 6:15:37.

In the women’s contest, Marjorie Velo finished second with Ronary Lanila salvaging third place.

Itogon’s Laurence Balanza topped the 22km race edging Modesto Agang-ang Jr. and Gilbert Agang-ang who settled for second and third respectively.

“Nakatulong ang pagiging road runner ko dati para mapanalo ang marathon na ito,” Balanza said.

Rowena Agang-ang, Marjorie Velo, and Ronary Lanila were among the top three finishers in the women’s side.

In the 12L category Vinson Ramos took home the first place while Jeremy dela Cruz and Kenneth Palang Pangan completed the top three finishers while in the distaff side, Mariel Flores, Marilex Cabading, and Ajina Carampel where the top finishers.

The trail run started and finished at the provincial plaza in Bontoc of the event organized by the Tawid Team which gives a bird’s eye view of the town of Bontoc.

The Tawid Mountain Marathon toured runners around Bontoc through the alps traversing from one barangay to another.

Tawid Marathon also offer scenes such as rice terraces, lakes, plateau, ridges, and other breathtaking landscapes. (Ruther Nadado and Crystal Mae Aquino/Colegio de Dagupan interns)

Published in the SunStar Baguio newspaper on May 05, 2017.

Latest issues of SunStar Baguio also available on your mobile phones, laptops, and tablets. Subscribe to our digital editions at and get a free seven-day trial.

View Comments