Benguet governor inducts Onjon ni Ivadoy officers

Benguet guv inducts Onjon ni Ivadoy officers

Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Benguet guv inducts Onjon ni Ivadoy officers

Thursday, May 04, 2017

BENGUET Governor Cresencio Pacalso inducted the new set of officers of the Onjon Ni Ivadoy, Inc. at the Ibaloy Heritage Garden, Burnham Park, Wednesday.

Taking his oath as president is Eroll Tagle while Francisco Golingab is vice president. Other officers include Ana Marie Diwas, secretary; Betty Satur, treasurer; Vicky Macay, auditor; Joselito Shontogan and Michael Alos, press relations officers.

Business managers are Sonny Bahod, Pilando Menzi, Norberto Antonio while board of directors are Erlinda Toquero, Freda Zarate, Sandy Calado, Leopoldo Lamsis and Felix Siplat.

Basilio Binay-an chairs the board of advisers with Tedler Depaynos, Julie Cabato, Moises Cating, Victor Cosalan, Jose Molintas, Peter Fianza, Nestor Fongwan, Isabelo Cosalan, Jr., Manuel Cuilan, Modesto Andong, and Jackson Chiday.

Both Pacalso and Tagle echoed the importance of preserving the Ibaloy culture especially among the younger generation and that they should take pride in their unique heritage.

They also pointed out May is the National Heritage Month which recognizes the need to create among the people a consciousness, respect and love for the legacy of Filipino cultural history.

The Onjon is the largest organization of Ibaloys who are the original inhabitants of Baguio formerly known as “Kafagway” where one of its patriarchs, Mateo Carino, was named by the Philippine Centennial Commission as a Centennial National Hero in 1998.

His bust is at the Luneta Park in Metro Manila with other Centennial heroes. (PR)

Published in the SunStar Baguio newspaper on May 05, 2017.

Latest issues of SunStar Baguio also available on your mobile phones, laptops, and tablets. Subscribe to our digital editions at and get a free seven-day trial.

View Comments